Planning the trip….

I am planning a trip around the world. There are many ways to do this. I discovered that it is easy to get caught up in wanderlust, even for an experienced traveler like me. As I began to plan I thought I could go here, then there, then visit some friends over here. The trip took on the look of an endless journey. Nice as that would be, there’s a little trouble with money and what to do with my little dog. I used two destinations to form my trip, Britain and Thailand. My daughter and her family live in Bath, Somerset. I am a massage therapist who would like to learn Thai massage in Chiang Mai. So I began to plan my trip with the plan to visit new places, but to not get carried away.

At present the my itinerary looks like this:

  1. Tucson to Washington, D.C. where I will drop off my dog to stay with my younger daughter while I am gone. This also gives me the opportunity to visit the Turkish Embassy to get a tourist visa. (oops! Spoiler alert!)
  2. DC to Bath, Somerset where my other daughter lives with her husband and two sons. There are two important events scheduled while I am there, but more on that later.
  3. A few days in Ireland. I’ve never been.
  4. London to Bucharest by train. I will be meeting up with a friend in London who will travel with me.
  5. Bucharest to Istanbul. The plan is to spend two nights in Romania and fly to Istanbul as the train takes 19 hours.
  6. Istanbul. My friend and I will be staying in a VRBO. We plan to see the sights, experience a hamam, try our hands at ebru, and have a little Turkish Delight.
  7. Cappadocia in Central Turkey. My friend will return home, but I wanted to see a little bit more of the country. The area is unique with some unique experiences. Plus, I will be visiting small towns which will be a nice change from cities.
  8. The next leg is TBD. I am looking at two different routes; Kiev or Dubai.
  9. Chiang Mai in northern Thailand. This will be my third trip to this country so I will not be stopping in Bangkok. There are several approved schools of massage in Chiang Mai. I will be there about a month.
  10. Malaysia. I’m just beginning to investigate places to visit.
  11. Singapore. I think it will be interesting to visit this tiny country. I hear the airport is one of the best in the world.
  12. Ubud, Bali. Several years ago I was in a doctoral program and this was going to be my reward for completing. I lost interest in the degree, but still want to visit the cultural capitol of the island. I’m interested in trying my hand at some of the crafts, maybe take a lesson or two with a gamelan.
  13. Back to Singapore and back home.

The trip will take about 3 1/2 to 4 months depending on how long I can stay in Bali.

I plan to write about the trip prep before I take off. Check back to see what I’ve been up to.

2 thoughts on “Planning the trip….

Leave a Reply

